DUI Laws Arizona
Society's perspective on DUI (Driving Under the Influence) has changed dramatically in the past 30 years. DUI is no longer accepted as an unavoidable price of automobile travel. More and more, DUI is recognized as a violent crime. These changes are mainly due to years of intense effort by federal, state and local agencies, citizen activist groups, nonprofit organizations, and private businesses.
Ed Loss is determined to provide the most outstanding service to help people who may be convicted of DUI and/or OUI (Operating Under the Influence) drivers on Arizona's roadway as well as lakes and waterways.
As public attitudes have changed, the percentage of alcohol related crashes has decreased. But impaired driving still takes far too great a human and economic toll. In 2003, drinking drivers were involved in 5.96% of all crashes but 26.56% of all fatalities in Arizona. Impaired driving is actually increasing in some groups, such as young women.
DUI Fine Increases
In 2004 Arizona Legislators increased the fines for DUI convictions.
- Starting March 13, 2004 the cost of a first-time conviction for driving under the influence increases from $450 to $950.
- The fine for an extreme DUI conviction, when a driver has a blood alcohol content of 0.15 percent or above, increases from $700 to $1,700.
- A second-time offender will face a $1,250 surcharge on top of the other fines.