Extreme DUI Arizona
First New DUI Law:
On Wednesday, April 4, 2001 at 1:00PM, Governor Jane Dee Hull signed Arizona's new Extreme DUI Limit Law. This law became effective immediately upon the Governors signature. This law reduces the Extreme DUI Blood Alcohol Concentration from: .18 BAC to .15 BAC
What .15 BAC means to you:
A person that is operating or in actual physical control with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15 or greater is guilty of driving while under the EXTREME influence of intoxicating liquor.
If you are convicted and this is your first offense, you will be:
Sentenced to serve a minimum of 30 days in jail. Previously the Judge could suspend all but 10 days of the sentence if the person completes an alcohol or other drug screening, education, or treatment program; amendments to this law prior to 2011 require the judge to sentence the full 30 days. Some cities and towns have home detention programs that allow the judge to give a 15 day jail sentence with the remainder at home on home detention. The law has, once again, changed effective January 1, 2012 and updates will be provided soon as we evaluate which courts are allowing the new law to apply to dates of violation prior to January 1, 2012 vs. only those after January 1, 2012.
Pay a fine of at least $250, plus any assessments, surcharges, restitution, and incarceration costs imposed by the court.
you will pay and additional assessment of $250;
You may be ordered to perform community service;
you will be required to equip any motor vehicle the convicted person operates with a certified ignition interlock device for a minimum of one year on the conclusion of the license suspension or revocation;
you will have attorney fees (or if you cannot afford one, one will be appointed to you);
your automobile insurance rates will increase substantially if you can find an insurance carrier that will accept you.
Second New DUI Law:
On Wednesday, April 11, 2001, Governor Jane Dee Hull signed Arizona's DUI Limit Law. This law becomes effective on Friday, August 31, 2001 at 12:01 AM. This law reduces the DUI limit from: .10 BAC to .08 BAC