What are the D.U.I. Laws in Arizona?
You are violating the Arizona D.U.I. law if you are driving a vehicle and your blood alcohol content (B.A.C) is .08 or higher...what does this mean?
.08 is not a magic number. If you are driving, or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08 or more, you are violating the law. However, .08 does not mean that you will not be arrested and prosecuted for DUI.
Arizona Revised Statutes state that is is unlawful to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, a vapor releasing substance containing a toxic substance, or any combination of liquor, drugs, or vapor releasing substances if the person is "impaired to the slightest degree".
Immediate Loss of Drivers License. If you are arrested for DUI and have a BAC of .08 or more you will surrender your license or permit to drive to a law enforcement officer on the spot. You will be issued a 30-90 day suspension and restriction on your driving priviledge. If you refuse to take a blood alcohol concentration test, the suspension will be for 12 months. All this happens in addition to criminal proceedings.